Buffalo Horn

CONSCIOUS

SUSTAINABILITY

OWP Buffalo Horn eyewear has been produced without the use of any toxins and without any waste, and have not been chemically treated. The only waste product: Horn shavings. And even these are still used as valuable fertilizer in agriculture. In this era of a new awareness of ecology and sustainability, you can now call a real piece of nature your own with a clear conscience.

Safe Origins

The Indian water buffalo lives predominantly in the river valleys of India and is one of the most important domesticated farm animals in Asia. The horn for your OWP Buffalo Horn eyewear is a by-product of livestock farming and is obtained exclusively from older animals after their natural death. In fact, horns of younger and wild animals would not even be suitable for the production of spectacles anyway due to certain qualities they do and do not have.

Precise craftsmanship

The processing of buffalo horn is much more complex than that of plastic. This nearly-lost craft requires the highest precision and many years of experience. Thin layers of horn are pressed into plates from which the spectacles can be milled. Based on color, structure, and texture, the plates are carefully hand-picked so that only flawless materials find their way to our workshop.

Uniqueness

Due to the variety of color nuances and grains, each piece of buffalo horn eyewear is absolutely unique. Whether purely monochrome, in multi-colored lamination, or with highly detailed texturing: You can be sure that your glasses are the only ones of their kind anywhere in the world.

Dimensional stability

Natural horn is chemically identical to hair and has grown into its natural form over the course of many years. In rare cases, a so-called “memory effect” may occur,

which will cause your glasses to become minimally warped. In this case, your optician can easily get them back into the right shape. After a short time, this natural memory effect of animal horn will work in your favor to keep your glasses extremely stable.

Excellent

Longevity

Like all natural materials, horn reacts to external influences. Running water, ultrasonic baths, heat, and pressure should be avoided if possible. It is best to clean your horn-rimmed glasses with a damp cotton cloth and to apply a thin layer of horn care cream once a month. This way, you can maintain the surface of your OWP Buffalo Horn eyewear optimally and continue to enjoy it for many years.

Comfortable, light, and hypoallergenic

Once a horn, always a horn: the wearing comfort of this horn eyewear cannot be imitated by any plastic in the world, because as a natural material, horn adapts to your body temperature. There is almost no heat build-up, which guarantees you a pleasant feeling on your skin in the winter and summer. Furthermore, horn eyewear is light and hypoallergenic.

Buffalo Horn

BEWUSSTE

NACHHALTIGKEIT

OWP Büffelhornbrillen sind ohne jegliche Verwendung von Giftstoffen und Abfallaufkommen entstanden und wurden nicht chemisch behandelt. Das einzige Abfallprodukt: Hornspähne. Und selbst diese werden noch als wertvoller Dünger in der Landwirtschaft eingesetzt. In Zeiten eines neuen Ökologie- und Nachhaltigkeitsbewusstseins nennen Sie also besten Gewissens ein echtes Stück Natur Ihr Eigen.

Gesicherte
Herkunft

20190805_OWPBuffaloHorn_2052.png

Der Indische Wasserbüffel lebt überwiegend an den Flusstälern Indiens und ist eines der wichtigsten domestizierten Nutztiere des asiatischen Raums. Das Horn für Ihre OWP Büffelhornbrille ist ein Randprodukt aus der Nutztierhaltung und wird ausschließlich von Alttieren nach deren natürlichem Ableben gewonnen. Hörner von Jung- und Wildtieren würden sich aufgrund ihrer Beschaffenheit ohnehin nicht zur Brillenherstellung eignen.

Präzises Handwerk

Die Verarbeitung von Büffelhorn ist deutlich komplexer als die von Kunststoff. Dieses fast verloren gegangene Handwerk setzt höchste Präzision und langjährige Erfahrung voraus. Dünne Hornschichten werden zu Platten gepresst, aus denen die Brillen ausgefräst werden können. Anhand von Farbe, Struktur und Beschaffenheit werden die Platten sorgsam handverlesen, damit nur perfektes Material den Weg in die Manufaktur findet.

20190802_OWPBuffaloHorn_1883.png

Einzigartigkeit

Aufgrund der Vielgestalt an Farbnuancen und Maserungen ist jede Büffelhornbrille ein absolutes Unikat. Ob einfarbig-pur, in mehrfarbiger Laminierung oder mit intensiver Struktur: Sie können sicher sein, dass Ihre Brille so nur ein einziges Mal existiert.

Formstabilität

Naturhorn ist chemisch gesehen identisch mit Haar und über viele Jahre in seine  natürliche Form gewachsen. Deshalb kann in seltenen Fällen ein sogenannter Memory-

Effekt auftreten, der Ihre Brille minimal krümmt. Ihr Optiker kann sie in diesem Fall ohne Probleme wieder in die richtige Form bringen. Der natürliche Memory-Effekt des Horns arbeitet nach kurzer Zeit übrigens zu Ihren Gunsten und hält Ihre Brille extrem formstabil.

Ausgezeichnete

Langlebigkeit

Wie alle Naturmaterialien reagiert Horn auf äußere Einflüsse. Fließendes Wasser, Ultraschallbäder, Hitze und Druck sollten Sie nach Möglichkeit vermeiden. Reinigen Sie Ihre Hornbrille am besten mit einem feuchten Baumwolltuch und gönnen Sie ihr einmal im Monat eine dünne Schicht Hornpflegecreme. So erhalten Sie die Oberfläche Ihrer OWP Büffelhornbrille optimal und können sich viele Jahre daran erfreuen.

Anschmiegsam, leicht und antiallergen

Einmal Horn, immer Horn: Der Tragekomfort einer Hornbrille ist durch keinen Kunststoff der Welt nachzuahmen, denn als Naturmaterial passt sich Horn Ihrer Körpertemperatur an. Es entsteht so gut wie keine Stauwärme, was Ihnen Winter wie Sommer ein angenehmes Gefühl auf der Haut garantiert. Außerdem sind Hornbrillen leicht und antiallergen.